Complete Story


2015 OCTC Awards for Excellence in Environmental, Health, Safety & Security Performance Nominations

Now Accepting!

Each year, exceptional performances in environmental, health, safety and security by companies in Ohio’s chemical industry are recognized by the Ohio Chemistry Technology Council (OCTC) through the Council’s Awards for Excellence.

Activities and Programs Eligible for Nomination

Each facility of a member company may submit a nomination on its own behalf. In addition to demonstrating commitment and achievement in protecting people and the environment, a nomination must focus on one new program or activity the company believes represents excellence in environmental, health, safety or security performance.

2015 Awards for Excellence Presentation

The 2015 Awards for Excellence will be presented at a special awards ceremony and dinner on Monday, May 4, 2015, as the opening event of the 37th Annual Conference. The dinner will be attended by government, industry and community leaders. Statewide publicity will be given to award recipients. Award recipients will be encouraged to invite community leaders, community advisory panel members and employees involved in the award-winning activities.

Panel of Judges

This year’s distinguished panel of judges include:

  • Joseph Lazevnick, Plant Manager, Lubrizol - Avon Lake Facility, Chair of the Panel of Judges
  • Russell J. Decker, Ph.D., Director, Allen County EMA
  • Randy VanDyne, Assistant Vice President, University of Findlay, and Director, School of Environmental and Emergency Management
  • Rob Brubaker, Partner, Porter Wright
  • Carolyn Watkins, Chief of the Office of Environmental Education, Ohio Environmental Protection Agency

Eagle Award for Excellence

In addition, the OCTC will present the Eagle Award for Excellence in Environmental, Health, Safety & Security Performance. This award will be presented to the 2015 award recipient whose performance is judged exemplary among the group of distinguished Excellence Award recipients. Our panel of judges will identify one award recipient that stands out for its scope, implementation, impact and sustainability.

Submit a Nomination

Simply complete the 2015 Awards for Excellence Nomination Form no later than Monday, February 16, 2015. Entries should be emailed to Jenn Klein at There is no fee for submitting an entry.


Printer-Friendly Version