Complete Story


2023 Awards for Excellence Winners Announced!

and the Eagle Award Winner is...

2023 600 X 300 Award For Excellence


OCTC Announces 2023

Awards for Excellence in Environmental, Health, Safety & Security Performance

Ohio Chemistry Technology Council (OCTC) is proud to announce this year's Awards for Excellence! We are honored to recognize exceptional performances in environmental, health, safety and security by companies in Ohio’s chemical industry!

Eagle Award Winner 

OCTC is excited to announce this year's Eagle Award for Excellence in Environmental, Health, Safety & Security Performance. Our panel of judges selected this program for standing out in scope, implementation, impact and sustainability. 

Nutrien Lima Nitrogen – Lima, Ohio

Nutrien Lima had a goal to voluntarily reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions in the Nitric Acid plant by replacing the NOx abator with a new NOx/N2O abator. The existing NOx abator does not abate N2O (nitrous oxide). N2O is a GHG that has 298 times greater potential than carbon dioxide. This project is projected to achieve a reduction of N2O of 285,000 tons per year CO2 equivalent. This is roughly equal to the annual GHG emissions from 56,000 gasoline powered cars.


Award for Excellence Winners

This year, 18 member companies have been selected to receive an award for excellence in Environmental, Health, Safety or Security Performance. Each facility of a member company submitted a nomination on its own behalf which was then submitted and reviewed by our distinguished panel of judges.   

In addition to demonstrating commitment and achievement in protecting people and the environment, a nomination must focus on a program or activity the company believes represents excellence in environmental, health, safety or security performance. Click on each site to read a brief description of their achievements!


Ashland - Columbus
 BASF Corporation - Whitehouse
 Cenovus Lima Refinery - Lima
 DuPont Dayton Site - Dayton
 DuPont Inc. - West Alexandria
 Emery Oleochemicals LLC - Cincinnati
 Epsilyte LLC - Piqua
 GFS Chemicals - Columbus
 INEOS Nitriles USA LLC - Lima
 The Lubrizol Corporation - Painesville
 Kraton Corporation - Belpre
 McGean - Cleveland
 PPG - Barberton
 PPG - Cleveland
 PPG - Delaware
 PPG - Euclid
 Solvay - Cincinnati

Octc Awards Map 2023

 To read & download the full press release, please click HERE.



Printer-Friendly Version